Waiting…

Not a whole lot has happened since my last post.

I sent out resumes to several teams (Arizona, Texas, Minnesota, Atlanta, Pittsburgh, Colorado, San Diego, White Sox, and Kansas City), and to the College World Series. I’ve heard from the Pirates, Padres, Twins and White Sox, but they were either, “Get back to us when you graduate” or “Go [here] to apply for jobs”. I’m still not so patiently waiting to hear from other teams. Hopefully I hear from the Braves this year because I have worked in their organization for 5 years and never heard anything about my resume. I’m hoping my experience in the White Sox organization will help this season.

I sent my information to the College World Series for a Spring internship that would run from January to the end of the Series in June. I sent it thinking that nothing would come of it. I got an email last week telling me that I was chosen to interview. My interview was Monday, and I asked how many were being interviewed since it was open nationally. He said the response was more than they’ve ever had, and they narrowed it down to 5 people out of all the applicants. I was one of them. The interviews go throughout this week. I don’t know when I’ll hear. I don’t know what I’ll do if I haven’t started hearing from teams.

We went to St. Louis before Game 6 of the World Series to hang out at the team hotel. I saw a guy wearing a big, sparkly ring. I went up to him, and asked if I could see it. It was a 2010 American League Championship ring. I started talking to him about school and what I want to do in baseball and he told me that he’s the Senior Vice President of the Rangers. I read up on him later that night and found out that he’s worked in or for the Ryan ownership group for several years. He told me on his way to the game to send my resume to him. I sent it… Again, just waiting to hear.

Last year was so much easier. No resumes to send out and no testing of my patience waiting to hear back 🙂

Leave a comment